Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the well-being of the societies and environments in which they operate. Others believe that the only responsibility of corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to make as much money as possible.

There are many corporations around the world that care about the society and environment around them and there are organizations that just care about money too.

But, I strongly agree that corporations do have a responsibility to contribute towards well bring of society and to protect the environment too. It is mainly because of the following two reasons in my view.

First and foremost, Many corporations around the globe rely on environment and society in a direct or indirect way. For example, A paper manufacturing company gets its main raw materials from trees , In the process It uses a large number of trees which results in reduction of the trees and may lead to global warming. So, the manufacturing company has the responsibility of at least planting the equal number of trees that they have used for the production. And There are also many companies that need a lot of workforce for certain work to happen who use large resources of land, water and other materials. So, It is also their responsibility to promote well being of society by providing jobs, and maintaining the environment pollution free so that the society gets benefitted for providing them the resources and the environment is not polluted as not to worsen the living conditions.

Secondly, It is also advantageous for the corporations to promote the well being of societies and protect the environment in which they operate. It is okay for some time that the corporation is looking after its well being in initial stages of the company as it might not be feasible for them at initial stages but when the corporation becomes big , they cannot ignore the consequences of any particular thing they do. Because their company is at stake if they do anything harmful to the society or nature. So, it becomes their responsibility to act fast and promote well being of nature and protect the environment by organizing events such as planting trees, and doing things such as reducing dependency on carbon etc.

In Conclusion, Corporations should not solely focus on money in my opinion, because the thing which you do today ,only in view of increasing revenue might not be feasible in future or have a bad image on the corporation which leads to its downfall eventually. It not only affects the corporation but also affects the society and environment. So, It is also their job to promote the well being of society and nature.