"Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the well-being of the societies and environments in which they operate. Others believe that the only responsibility of corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to make a

In my opinion, any entity has responsibilities towards their country. Be it a school student, police officer or even corporations. I believe that any corporation is responsible for promoting the well-being of its local society and environment including the corporations that have the sole goal of seeking more revenues. And I will give my reasons for this position in this text.

With no doubts, corporations depend on the local community and environment for their success. Many industries are depending on the resources of their surroundings, be it raw materials or human resources. For example, Starbucks, the number one coffee company in the USA, has created a trade in South America, where the coffee beans it uses, are planted and harvested. Also, it attracts the locals to work in its stores. In this manner, it is a mutual benefit. The corporation is flourishing, getting a good reputation regionally and internationally and at the same time increasing its revenues. Moreover, it is contributing to the local community by constantly creating new job opportunities for the local people.

Consider another example, assume a fuel corporation that is working under law was found to contaminate the neighboring village by the leakage of a poisonous gas. In fact, what happened has forced the locals to leave to another village. Apparently, the people had to endure additional costs of finding new place and medications due to the environmental damage the fuel corporation has made to their village. With this evidence, I believe that corporations should have responsibilities to their surroundings (the people and environment). They should take them into their consideration before they must resume any goal or plan.

Someone would say that corporation should only strive to seek revenues and other entities in the country can take charge to promote the environment and local communities. But with the first example I provided I strongly believe that corporations can still strive to increase their revenues and at the same time they can provide support to their surroundings. If for example a company started to put environment to its consideration this will consequently give it a good reputation among people and therefore attract people to work for this company which guarantees more money.