Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the wellbeing

of the societies and environments in which they operate. Others believe that

the only responsibility of corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to

make as much money as possible.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your

own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing

and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Modern Corporations have realised the importance of catering to the demands of societies in which they operate, which many older companies failed to understand. This is why many corporations have different section, “CSR Division” which is responsible to ensure availability of basic facilities to people in their surrounding area. Driven by moral responsibility, companies like Piramal Pharma solutions group have taken up initiatives to ensure facilities like schooling of students upto a particular standard.

However, some people feel that company is not obliged to work for the environment, as long as they operate within the law. The main motto of company should be churning out as much money as possible, and contributing to the GDP of nation as much as possible. It is the work of government to ensure that basic amenities are provided to poor, and not of these companies. For instance, the East Indian Company was very successful in their approach of maximizing their profits even if it involved useing devious methods to trick localites. East India Company prospered in multiple nations, especially India in its period because of their “Money First” policy.

It is unfortunate that some people have ideologies as displayed in the example of above paragraph. Many people, including prominent personalities like Shashi Tharoor claim that India is still lacking behind because of the incalculable loss incured because of the inhuman acts of East India Company. The main reasons East India Company could prosper at that time were lack of competition and lack of unity among people of India. The world knows what happened to East India Company post 1950s. The company was condemned by many people across world for its blatant cruelity towards other beings which led it to its end. If any company has to survive for longer periods in todays time, it has to make sure that it keeps the people in its proximity happy.

It is the moral responsibility of companies to take up such community service activities because they are using the resource of nearby areas, of which people living in those areas are also stakeholders. Therefore, it is the duty of companies to work not only to earn money, but also promote wellbeing of surrounding environment. The company described in first paragraph is a good example. Piramal Pharma Solutions has set up community service department which not only makes education easily accessible to nearby people, but also works on schemes to promote employment among poor people. They have set up schools and recruited female teachers in order to promote awareness of education among women. This has caused the people to readily comply with demands on company and also work with them on its sites for economic gains of company. Such synergy has not only enhanced quality of living among people of adjoining regions, but also increased the financial resource strength of Piramal, allowing them to take up new CSR activities and also expand their group to overseas market.

In view of above examples and arguments, it is evident that company should also look after people living in nearby regions not only to have stable and happy workforce, but also increase help their accounts to flourish. Therefore, community service activities should be part of responsibility of company and should not be looked at wasted resources.