Essay topic:

Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the wellbeing of the societies and environments in which they operate. Others believe that the only responsibility of corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to make as much money as possible.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

The argument presented provides views on opposite spectrums of reasoning; narrowing the duties of corporations to profit making and promotion of environmental wellbeing. While each of the views are sufficiently adequate when considered, the responsibility of corporations should not be considered as all-or-null in these aspects. Although the main motive of any business corporation is to make profit, it is also in their best interest to consider the health and wellbeing of societies in which they operate, this closely aligns with my position.

Although promoting the wellbeing may not be strictly considered as a responsibility, corporations have a lot to gain when they take initiatives to participate in community development exercises. For one, it promotes the health of customers, healthy customers yields increases profits for the corporation. For example, studies in Nigeria show that Pharmacies that carries weekly community health outreaches where customers are tested for medical conditions such as Hypertension, diabetes, malaria and so on, tend to have a higher proportion of health customers and even more sales. This is analysed to be as a result of good public image they develop when they becaused considered as being health conscious.

On the other hand, while being conscious on promoting the wellbeing of their communities corporations should be mindful to not loose focus on the main goal of any corporation; which is to maximize profit by making “lots of money”. Corporations that have numerous investors on board not consider the effects of taking on such responsibility on their net income. For example a newly established textile factory which is situated on a poorly constructed road and tries to extensively repair the damaged road within its first month of operation before any income is made is at the risk of incurring losses and the expenses incurred is expected to be greater that any income to be made within the first moth of operation.

In conclusion, while environmental development and promotion is not neccessarily a reponsibilty as much as it is an advantage, these opposing views should be carefully considered and balanced to maximize the benefit of both views.