Some people believe that increasing violence in the media is the cause of increasing violence in our society, especially among children. Others believe that children's peer groups and parental role models are a much more powerful influence on children's behavior.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented above.

While it is an established notion that children often tend to replicate and build on the things that they see and observe in their lives, it certainly does not apply entirely on the media, but rather on their group and parental role models in their lives. Chidren often pickup on the attributes that their parents possess and live upto perfecting it to the best of their ability. It is true that violence among children is developing at an alarming rate, but that certainly does not mean that they tend to pick these negative behavioural traits from the public or the media, but rather from their household and from their friends. As a person, you tend to communicate and live amongst people that you believe in. The same applies to children. Youngsters often associate themselves with a certain people because they like what they are seeing and because they are comfortable around them. You will not find children watching the news or hanging out with random people. Children tend to have role models in their lives. Despite that being a good example of how your children must live, it may also lead to certain problems. No human is perfect and sometimes children pickup on the dirty attributes that you see in yourself. This could also lead to your children becoming violent over a course of time. The environemnt that your children grows up in plays an important role in the person that he or she shapes up to be. For example, if he grows up in a household where the parents constanstly fight, the child might develop an unhealthty opinion on marriage. If left unchecked, children can join a bad gang and develop vice practices like drinking and smoking. It may also lead to things that may be considered worse. They could end up killing people even. A wise man once said " Show me your friends , and I will tell you who you are". Your friends are who you are. You tend to follow their practices because you want to fit in and be loyal to them. This could be a reason as to why children are becoming violent in the society by the day. Parental role models are important figures that children look upto. You, as a parent want what's best for them. But sometimes you may wish to see them develop into the person that you are. If you are Doctor or an Engineer ,etc, good. But imagine if you are a criminal and you wish to see your child grow up into the person that you are. It is therfore important to be the right role model in front of your children , so they grow upto be better human beings.With that being said , it cannot be denied that media also plays a huge role in shaping the future or the character of a child. Although, it may seem unlikely for a child to watch the media , it is not impossible. Violent media in such case can be termed as the cause for an increasing violence in our society, especially among children. If child ends up being influenced by the media and follows them into a riot of sorts. He or she might develop an unhealthy behaviour towards solving problems.In conclusion, while some people might believe that increasing violence in the media is the cause of increasing violence in our society, especially among children. You cannot deny that children's peer groups and parental role models are a much more powerful influcne on the child's behaviour.