Some people believe that increasing violence in the media is the cause of increasing violence in our society, especially among children. Others believe that children's peer groups and parental role models are a much more powerful influence on children's behavior.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented above.

The content we are consuming today in the form of media has increased folds of violence as compared to the earlier times. The movies, web series, songs, even news contains a higher rate of wordsor actions that are generally aligned with violence.

Media like movies have number of plots where in the protagnist is involved in violent activites which ultimaltely reflect their mettlesome nature. Since young population is consuming this type of media on a regulara basis and that too in high quantities, it will not be wrong to believe that this can be the cause of the increase in the young population. For instance, Tom was watching a movie in which the hero has to fight with several men to finally prove his strength and earn respect. As Tom consumes this content, next time Tom is being bullied his automatic response would be to get violently involved wtih the bully to either prove his strength or to earn some respect in the eyes of the bully. However, this reaction can further escalte the situation rather than solving the problem.

Use of bombastic language in media like songs or videos is also promoting childern to use such vocabularly which sometime may turn into a violent episode. Even though the person using such language was only trying to be cool by using such trendy language it turned into something totally different than expected.

It is said that children are the mirror of the enviroment they grow up in. If the child is exposed to violent incidents more than often they mayaccquire this as the normal tendency and start to act like the group they are spending time with. So, it won't be wrong to aver that childern's peer group have a lasting impact on them. For example, Harish and his friends are a group of five friends. If Rahul is a guy who thends to flex his muscle if he doesn't get what he desires, the lesson Harish and his friends can learn is "if you don't get what you want, engaging in violent activites is justified".

If the child watches his/her parents or the people in their parental role model engagging in violent episodes, they will pick up these habits because they lookup to them for all kind of habits.

I would like to conclude this by pointing out that even though the violence in the media is increasing, children's peer groups and role models also have a deep impact on them. If the role models or groups have tedency to involved in these kind of violent incidents media is only adding fue to the fire by glorifying violence as a mean to earn respect and potray strength and courage.