In order to alleviate the serious unemployment problem in our town, we should encourage Autotech to build its automobile manufacturing plant in our area. The Hillview landfill, which has been undeveloped for decades, is a perfect site for this plant. The building and staffing of this plant will put to work thousands of Hillview residents left unemployed after Computech computer software programming company abandoned its national facility last year. I am asking the City Council to authorize a large campaign to attract the company and offer significant tax incentives to make our town attractive to this giant of car manufacturing

he argument presented in the memo for the Mayor, in favor of building a car manfavturing plant in the Hillview landfill area to combat unemployement, though with all the noble intentions, inadvertetntly has numerous unwarranted assumptions and leaves a myriad of unaswered questions.

Firstly, the the argumet fails to take into consideration the skill level, and turns a blind eye to the skill set posessed by the majority of the population. The construction of the plant would require skilled labot ofcourse, and the staffing would need people who are efficient and familiar with working with automated machines. So the skill set required for the staffing for a car manufacturing company is vastly different from the skillsets required by a computer programming company. Since the population appears to be more inclined towards computer based technologies, as is bolstered by the fact that there was a computer software progaramming company before, the car manufactuirng company will not be able to hire the people since they do not have the required skill set. The argument also does not take into consideration the economic status of the population. Will they be able to hire poeple as labors from within the twon or that would require bringing people in from fram off places. Even of they find labors, will it be cost effective for the company to hire the locals, or would cheap labor be available to them from outside.

If the company plans to hire people skilled in programming and train them for the particulat skill set required in a car manufacturing company, that would require a huge investement in the training of the poeple. Will the company be willing to invest in training their employees realizing that they have to unlearn their particaulr skill set and lear new skills from ythe scratch.

Let us suppose that the company is willing to train people, are the people ready to undertake a job that they know is not related to the previous work experience that they have and would require them to learn new things. Even if all falls in place, the efficiency of the work and the quality of product would be jeopardized.

The argument also fails to take into consideration the econimic factors of the town. There must have been a reason why a ComPutech had to abandon their facility. There could have been a lot of unfavorable conditions that must have forced the comapny to take such a strong decision. What is the guarantee that the car manufavturing plant will not face the same fate?

If the plant is built in the area, there are high chances that the company will hire people from around the town from where they can readily get people with pertinet skillset, because after all, it is a product based company and not a charitable organization. It needs to run a business. Though the company would undoubtedly bring employement, it will not solve the problem of unemployemnt of the town in question here.