Some people believe it is often necessary, even desirable, for political leaders to withhold information from the public. Others believe that the public has a right to be fully informed.

Over the past century, after the onset of democracy in most developed and developing nations, there have been several politicians who have hidden valuable information from the public and have been criticized rightly so. The prompt suggests that some people believe that this is necessary or desirable, however, I mostly disagree for two main reasons. I think that most information should be made public, but I do concede that in specific scenarios, such as military or army tactics, should be kept confidential.

To begin with, I think that information about the government or a nation's law-making body should be kept public. This helps in providing the citizens of the country an account of the deeds, mistakes and data on the premises of which a country makes law. Moreover, providing such information officially leads to less confusion, and speculation from the citizens and they are able to cast their votes based on real data. If this were not the case, then citizens would be stuck with heated debate and people could potentially vote for someone they would not if the factual data was present. For instance, consider a bill that proposes changes in the tax structure where the tax on certain goods is increased and on certain goods they are decreased. If the government were to provide information about why tax on certain goods needs to be increased or decreased there would be less uproar from the citizens who are badly affected from it. Providing clarity to citizens of a country can help alleviate protests and debates, and hence can prove to be beneficial.

Furthermore, transparency in the government can help bring to light the corrupt individuals who are stealing tax-payer money. Over the years, we have seen many cases where local politicians pocket some of the funding provided by the government to improve society. For instance, some politicians in India conceal the exact expenditure and account of money spent in a project like road construction. Making such information public would help curb venality and make better use of the tax paid by the people. In addition, transparency encourages politicians to do good and show how well they have done compared to others by providing quantifiable data. Thus, making accounting information public, not only promotes good behavior but also discourages malpractices such as corruption.

However, I do concede that in the cases like military strategy, information must be kept confidential from the people to protect them as revealing them would prove advantageos to the enemy. Withholding such information does not prove to be harmful to the citizens of a country but rather can help boost their security and defense. Nonetheless, choosing what information must be disclosed and what should not, must be decided and if the latter is chosen then adequate reasoning must be provided.