Governments should place few, if any, restrictions on scientific research and development.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Should government put no restrictions on any scientific research and development? I partly agree with this viewpoint scince there are advantageous progress it brings, but I also maintain that government should restrain some specific researches due to their consequences.

To begin with, putting fewer restrictions on scentific research will benefit the society as a whole, especially in the term of solving social problems. These days, the society is facing many throny problems which are needed to be tackled as soon as possible. Many scentific reseaches and experients are related to this. If these attemptions are restrained by the government, the society is hard to solve the problems and thrive. For instance, at the end of 2019, the world faced the terrible breakout of COVID-19, which caused many people to death. At that time, each country were putting a lot of resources and energy and talents to support the creation of the vaccines. Finally, under the insist hardwork and numberless researches of the scientists and professional experts, they made it. This big achievement saved a great number of people from danger, and enabled the society to work as normal. Imagine if there are any restritions on this field, the great work will be deterred.

Furthermore, less restricitions are conducive to carrying out creative ideas for scientists. Some scientists put forward some wonderful and imaginary ideas, but if the government not allow them to put it into practises, it would disencourage the on a large extent. What's worse, many other researchers are less inclined to think up with the innovative ideas and have a try. It would limit the development of the science. For example, at the first period of the invention of autonomous car, people were doubting about these ideas that cars could drive themselves without human. And the government actrully encouraged this kind of creative thinking, at least it was not resricted. After many years of reseaches of artificial intelligence and the development of the machenic industry, the virtual blueprint had finally come true, and many cities has been putting it into test on the real condition of the road. The support of the government is crucial to this achievement.

However, governments ought to put restrictions on specific researches and development, considering their possible detrimental consequences. We should not allow all aspects of the development. It is true that some researches have a disadvantageous effects to the human beings. For example, we could not say clearly what a gene-editing research and its implementation could bring to the progress of humanbeing, because it might be a catastrophie. Other examples such as the forever pollution of the development of nuclear energy. Thus, we should consider carefully that the standard of supporting a research is that it will benefit humanbeings whether on a short term or a long term, instead of lead us to death.

In conclusion, I contend that the government should put no restrictions on the field that truly benefit the society and humanbeing, and restrict some kinds of development which might lead us to a bad consequence.