Some people believe that the most important qualities of an effective teacher are understanding and empathy. Others believe that it is more important for teachers to be rigorous and demanding in their expectations for students.

A teacher is believed to be a mentor and a role model. There lies a humongous responsibility on a teacher’s shoulder when it comes to effectively conveying his point and make an impact on student’s life. A teacher is expected to be someone with whom a student can feel a connection but also someone who can push student to work harder to his potential. It is no doubt imperative for a teacher to be empathetic but a teacher should also be assertive and challenging for a student. Teachers who can push students outside their comfort zones and prepare them for practical life are considered more successful.

Expectations in any relationship plays a role of stimulus to work hard and move forward. Similarly, when a teacher expects his students to perform well in tasks assigned to them, he is actually pushing them for learning and putting in effort. The real learning starts when one is challenged and is expected to produce results that require exploring ones strengths. A teacher should, therefore, diligently be rigorous to motivate students for becoming self reliant that will come in handy when such students face the practical world.

Often times when teacher becomes evidently empathetic, students start exploiting the situation to cover their shirking and cheating. The best way for a teacher is to handle such situations by being reasonably assertive so that students take his commands seriously and actually perform in assignment responsibly. A teacher has to do this important yet sensitive task of balancing between when to show slight leniency and when to go hard in punishment.

People can argue that if teachers go hard on students, put some pressure for assignments and demand effort on part of students, this might lead to stress among students that will ultimately impact their health more importantly mental health. One can agree with this to some extent and there are definitely some extreme cases that can be dealt as exceptions, however, for majority of the students, the whole exercise of academic stress makes them better positioned for the practical life challenges. Such students shall be better poised to accept and handle pressures from their personal and work life.

In a nutshell, its better for a teacher to be more rigorous and assertive in the academic setup as this actually will help students to discover their strengths and weaknesses. The expectations from a teacher will ac as motivational force for students to put in more effort and thus earn better results. The students, in the process, will learn to face challenges of life more effectively.