“Students should fund their education with part-time work that they do while they study.”

It is becoming increasingly difficult for students to finance their education due to rising costs. Some students are lucky to have enough funds at their disposal so that they do not have to worry about finances; others are less lucky and have to look for available options. Students can work part-time or rely on student loans while they study. For many students, there is no choice but to use both the options simultaneously to survive through this phase of life. Whichever option students pick, there are consequences which can affect them positively as well as negatively. While working can equip student with practical skills, it can also affect his/her performance in class as he/she will be left with lesser time to study. However, the pros of working part-time to fund education are overwhelming.

Firstly, part-time work can benefit students both in short-term and in long-term. In short-term student will be able to manage his expenses and gain some experience meanwhile. By relying on part-time work instead of student loans can provide a student with more financial freedom in long-term; he will not be liable to anything in future. He can save himself with the stress of repayment of loans and can start his professional life without any debt.

Moreover, if a student is fortunate enough to find job in his/her area of interest, he will have added advantage at the end of his degree. He will have gained experience that can help his CV to stand out and can land him a better job. Working part-time even in an irrelevant field or area can also serve as an eye-catching entry in your CV and can pay back in long-term. Working before even graduating will help him gain those important life skills that are imperative for professional life. He will become independent, learn to manage his finances effectively, become more responsible, and learn how the practical world works. The recruiters believe that such student who managed work and study side-by-side possesses qualities like commitment, dedication and perseverance. Such skills are treasured by employees and can give student a better start than his/her non-working contemporaries.

Lastly, no doubt part-time work may take a toll on a student’s social life as well as academic performance; however, it is manageable. Students can plan their social activities on weekends (if they work during week) or in evenings. Usually students do not have responsibility of family, so they are more likely to manage things. This greatly trains them and prepares them for life in general.

Therefore, in my opinion, part-time work is a much better option to fund education when students are looking for finances. Even if he or she finds financial support in shape of scholarships, the job can come in handy in a lot of different ways as discussed above.