Some people believe that in order to be effective, political leaders must yield to public opinion and abandon principle for the sake of compromise. Others believe that the most essential quality of an effective leader is the ability to remain consistently committed to particular principles and objectives.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

A leader is a person who is in the forefront of the nation, country, company, and team. They are the voice of the collective. To be the voice of the whole, leaders must hold onto values and not be willing to compromise from them. By doing so, leaders gain the trust and become an inspiration to the public.

When a leader stands firm in their beliefs, they gain credibility and trust from the people. Being in a leadership role amongst the public, people expect their leaders to be their representative. For instance, President Ronald Reagan was one who had strong beliefs in individualism and personal perseverance. This belief has aided him in motivating the United States to come out of the recession during the 1980s and helped the nation proper into its economic triumphs.

Next, when a leader stands firm in their beliefs, they are able to be an inspiration for the people. The people will see that there is someone who is unwavering in their beliefs and will be motivated to know that there is one person that is living what they are saying. In return, the people will try to live up to that model. For instance, Ghandi was one of the most profound leaders in India who helped gained India’s independence through his belief in non-violence. The people, seeing how Ghandi is living in this ideal, was motivated and encouraged that they partook in this belief as well.

Even though leaders who stand have strong beliefs gain credibility with the public and are an inspiration to the people, there considerations one must take. If a leader is strong to hold onto values that are harmful to people and are insistent in not changing, then it causes harm to the public. For instance, during the American Civil War, the common held belief amongst leaders during that time was that individuals from African descent were viewed as lower human beings. They deserve to be enslaved by the leaders of the nation. Comparing that values to today’s views, the belief is seen as archaic. If it wasn’t for leaders in the past who stopped believing in slavery and racial superiority, then change wouldn’t happen.

In conclusion, leaders who hold strong beliefs are seen to gain credibility with the people. They are also ones who are an inspiration to the public. To be a great leader, the person must be able to live up these values and willing to see both sides.