Some people believe that in order to be effective, political leaders must yield to public opinion and abandon principle for the sake of compromise. Others believe that the most essential quality of an effective leader is the ability to remain consistently committed to particular principles and objectives.

The government is “of the people, by the people and for the people” , and as we all know the government comprises of political leaders selected by the people in a democratic state. The prompt doesn’t take a side, rather discusses the opinions of two sides. One side believes that for a leader to be effective he/ she should be consistent with one’s objective, while the other side says that the leader should bend according to the will of the public. This issue is a complex issue and it is not possible to pick a side. I believe that the government should have a strong stand, but should also compromise with the public under extreme circumstances.

It makes the government look weak when they change their objectives and ideals according to the public. That particular government was chosen for a reason by the majority of the people based on the promises made by the government, and it is the leaders duty to ensure those promises are satisfied. The Modi government was elected by the people for increasing the economy of the country since that was promised by the government. When his government came up with the farmers bill which essentially privatized the farming industry in India there was major opposition by the opposing party and the people who were affected by the decision. The government approached the opposition and assured them this will make farming industry even bigger than it was before passing the bill. It is the governments duty to ensure they made right decision ,and make sure their plan succeeds since that was the reason they were elected for even though there was huge opposition.

Similarly, a country such as is India has multiple communities with varied interests. As a result, it is an impossible task to satisfy and acknowledge every community in the country. Therefore, the only solution for the leaders of the country is to fulfill the promises they made during the election ,since they were elected due to the promises they made to the public. For example in this situation the Modi government passed the CAB bill which did not allow Muslims to immigrate to India, but allowed immigration of minorities like Hindus and Sikhs form countries such as Pakistan and Bangladesh. This troubled the Muslim community in India and assumed that the government was against them, while the intention of the government was to reduce the illegal immigration into the country which drained the countries resources, and simultaneously providing a homeland for minority communities which are discriminated in the countries mention above.

However, during emergency situation it is crucial to listen to the public’s opinion and take them into account. The covid crises was a major problem, which damaged and transformed the world in ways we would never have expected. The government may have promised to build new infrastructures such as roads and bridges, and also might have promised methods to increase the tourism in the country. Unfortunately, due to the covid crises many people fell ill and the death rate increased in the country. Under these circumstances the government needs to listen and understand the problems faces by the citizens faced by the country in order to mitigate the issue such as build hospitals and increase the capacity of existing hospital. It would be a terrible decision by the leaders if they decided to fulfill their problems while the country is in crises.

This issue is rather gray, and it would not be right to choose a particular side since the circumstances drastically change every day. It is the leaders duty to make sure their promises are fulfilled regardless off whether there is opposition against the decision they have made except under incredible situation.