Some people believe that in order to be effective, political leaders must yield to public opinion and abandon principle for the sake of compromise. Others believe that the most essential quality of an effective leader is the ability to remain consistently committed to particular principles and objectives.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Political opinion and popular ideas are always in a state of flux, one days’ popular idea or principle may be derided the next. The prompt presents two conflicting views, that political leaders should either yield to public opinion or remain committed to their own principles. I mostly agree with the former idea due to the following two reasons.

Firstly, in a democratic setting, extremely principled politicians may find it alluring or even attempt to circumvent constitutional safeguards that have been put in place to limit their powers for furthering their goals. This is especially the case, when their principles are not favoured by the majority. For example, they may attempt to get polarising bills passed through the senate (or parliament) without addressing the protests made by representatives. They may even attempt to influence and strongarm other institutions of democracy to submit to their ideas. For example they may try to influence the judiciary or event the judicial election process to appoint judges that favor their cause. And this leads to further bills and judgements that, while furthering the leader/politician’s agenda, may be at the peril of the general people.

Secondly, principled politicians may be less ‘successful’. Strongly opinionated politicians may find it difficult to bring about real change due to their uncompromising nature. Often, in order to bring about real change, politicians may have to accept compromises with respect to their principles or plans. Take for example a road proposed by one such principled politician, the politician faces opposition since the highway plan intends to cut through a densely forested area and there are concerns over its benefits. However, the opposing leaders are willing to accept the highway plan if instead of cutting through, the roads would go around the forested area. The principled politician may find it hard to accept this alternative since it means going back on his original goal, even though the people may benefit from either plan. And this firm stance may result in the plans being stuck in limbo. Thus as we can see, such a politician while strong on principle, does not prove to be effective.

However, on the other end politicians with loose principles and easily influenced ideas may prove to be even more ineffective. Consider such a politician that was voted into power over his support for the highway from the previous example. Upon getting elected however the politician finds it difficult to abate the opposition’s concerns over the highway’s environmental impact and instead gives up on the plan entirely. And once again, similar to the previous hypothetical strong-willed politician, the highway plan remains in limbo. And the people once again are not able to benefit from the said highway being brought to fruition.

To conclude, we need to recognize that while leaders who are more amenable and yield to the popular opinion may not prove to be the most effective, steadfast leaders may also prove to be equally or maybe even more ineffective, considering how the may have a higher proclivity toward dictatorial tendencies, and also their strong aversion to compromise.