Some people believe that in order to be effective, political leaders must yield to public opinion and abandon principle for the sake of compromise. Others believe that the most essential quality of an effective leader is the ability to remain consistently committed to particular principles and objectives.

From the beginning of the creation of nations, every group has been having a leader mostly chosen by people and there has been different leaders all around the world, some highly dogmatic and dictator and some naïve and yielding. In my opinion, neither a dogmatic leader nor a yielding leader is suitable for an instructive leadership. A true effective leader needs to be sometimes dictator and sometimes flexible.

Let's consider a leader who always yields to public's opinion. The former ruler of Iran, Mohammadreza Shah was the same type. As a result of his flexibility, he lost the power and surrendered the country to Khomeini who later became the Iranian leader based on the polls. A transition of power which made Iran one of the worst countries in the world because the new ruler was so highly opinionated that couldn't stand other political parties and order the execution of all parties that were not in accordance with his political views. By mentioning Khomeini, I was trying to show how a ruler who always stays committed to limited principals can lead to a disaster.

Although each country has its own rules and laws and sticking to those laws is a way to keep the country and nation organized, however these laws have to be passed based on the public's best interest and should be passed by chosen representatives of different public groups. The fact is that this is the only way for a country and nation to thrive, by having a representative of different classes in a society who can question the laws and even the leader.

In addition, it is true that democracy is the only solution to a highly effective and successful nation. It is evident that power leads to corruption in most of the cases and as we have always noticed so many leaders have a tendency to become a dictator. Only dictatorial leaders don't listen to their people and don't let their people have the right to talk and express their concerns. As an example we can mention Iran, with the most dictatorial government in the world. The ultimate decision in every single issue has to be in compliance with Mr. Khamenei, Iranian leader. Although he always follows particular principals and objectives, however those principals are all in favor of his opinion and they are all made by him.

In conclusion, for having the most triumphal nation, a country needs leaders who are committed to consider the best for their nation and follow a set of principles and laws passed by people's representatives and they have always follow the nation's best interest.