A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

The idea of requiring all students in a nation, study the same curriculum seems so useful and beneficial. Although I agree with this fact to a large extent however there might be a small fact which hasn't been considered in the statement.

As a matter of fact if all the students study the same content, whether they are living in a big city or in smaller cities, they have the same opportunity for advancing in education. For example imagine students living in capital city of a country have access to higher quality contents than students in smaller cities, how can a student from smaller city compete with the ones in capital? This can even lead to suppressing the students in smaller cities and it can even reduce their motivation to a level that they stop education.

In addition, let's consider the fact that many times, students change their schools and start a new grade at another school. If the content in both schools are not the same, how overwhelmed a student might feel? Imagine that in the previous school mathematics has been only taught at the preliminary levels and in the new school mathematics is more advanced and at a higher level. In this case the student can even fail the course and even it can lead to hatred of mathematics.

Furthermore there is always a type pf assessment in order to get into the college or university. These assessments are based on the content taught in school. If the contents were different, these tests can't be standard and can't evaluate a student's ability. For example Student A can get high results because the school he attended, had focused on the contents assessed in the test, however student B has no idea how to answer the same question, because the content he was taught at school was completely different in that school and hasn't been relevant to the question in test.

Although we can have so many reasons to assure that national curriculum is necessary, however it can be mentioned that the committee that chooses the curriculum is mostly elected by the government and may the government wants to impose its political thoughts using the content which will be taught in schools. For example, in Iran, most schools focus on religious practices and most teachers try to support the dictatorship of the government. They try to brainwash the students and impose the preferences of the government to them.

With all these being said, we can conclude that a national curriculum is necessary and practical however the committee choosing these curriculum is also so important and they need to consider the most important criteria for the contents of the books.