Some people believe that scientific discoveries have given us a much better understanding of the world around us. Others believe that science has revealed to us that the world is infinitely more complex than we ever realized.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

The argument of those people who believe that scientific discoveries have given us a much better understanding of the world around us stands stronger than the other argument because over the years, mankind has seen a large number of great inventions and developments that have completely changed the outcome of human lives. Although there have been many consequences, but the benefits can surely outgrow them.

First of all, the invention of aeroplane by the Wright brothers had completely changed the way how people travel to the other side of the planet. Surely there were a lot of problems while implementing an idea of making a huge machine made of up metals soar through the air like a bird. There might have been other people who tried to implement the same idea, but failed. But, in the 21st century, we cannot imagine our lives without such a fast and effective mode of transportation. Life would have been very hard if people needed to travel by ships for weeks to get to the other side of the world. But after the gift to mankind by the Wright brothers and later development and betterment of that technology, we can now transport large number of people, goods, packages etc. from one place to another in almost no time compared to other modes of transportation.

In addition to the above example, we can take a look at the nuclear power plants that can generate kilos and mega volts of electricity and are also renewable sources of energy. One fine example of such plant is the Bhabha Atomic Research Center in India. The scientists over there have discovered numerous ways where a radioactive atom(specifically Uranium 238) can be split and a huge amount of electricity can be harnessed which is used to light up cities, towns and villages. Surely the development of nuclear sciences has witnessed some horrific incidents in the past. During the bombing of Hiroshima and Nagasaki in 1945, Japan saw millions of deaths in front of their eyes. But, research and development of same nuclear energy is being put into good use in countries like India which will surely see a shortage of non-renewable sources of energy in the coming years.

Also, one crucial example of the need of scientific development in our lives is the internet. During the 1990's, were people even able to imagine that they would see the face of their loved ones who live thousands of kilometers away with just a press of a button? Nowadays, such once unimaginable things could be done by the help of the different video calling apps. Was the development and implementation of internet easy? Absolutely not! Did it stop us from achieving unimaginable things? Also, absolutely not. Internet has been one of the biggest boon to the mankind.

In conclusion, if we take a close look at the above examples, we can ask some questions. Was it an easy task to make a heavy machine fly? Is nuclear physics easy to understand or implement in our daily lives? Also, Does the system of connecting the whole world through the digital media was an easy job? The answer to all these and many other questions is No. But, these inventions and scientific developments did bring a revolution and changed how we live our lives. At some point these ideas were considered to be infinitely complex, but mankind did manage to bring out its full potential.