Colleges and universities should require their students to spend at least one semester studying in a foreign country.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

At first glance it might seem the for the sake of attaining quality education, it might be a good idea to spend at least one semester in a foreign country to study so that the student can gain more experience from a different perspective. But, taking a close into the matters will bring out certain problems that will arise for the students.

For example, their are many students in countries like India where the college and university fees are already very high. Students and their parents face a lot of problem gaining financial stability in order to afford higher education. Although, there are numerous ways whereby meritorious students receive scholarships and financial aid, there are a huge number of students who do no receive such aids. Therefore, it will be very difficult for the masses to save that much money to afford the expenses of education along with the living expenses of living in a foreign country.

Another strong point that questions the statement is that is it really necessary to spend at least one semester in a foreign country? If we take into consideration a certain batch of students who took their major on arts, who are also citizens of France. There are numerous pieces of paintings, frescos, cathedrals and famous sculptures which makes France a center of culture and arts. It would beneficial for such students to study the culture in their own country, rather than visiting a foreign country. So, it is very difficult to analyse that which students taking up which courses actually need the experience from a foreign country that will actually benefit them in the long run.

Moreover, there are a huge number of students who take up a course while already working. It will be very difficult for them to quit their jobs and move to a foreign country for a semester. It might be the case that the student's earing from that particular job was helping him to afford his education fees. Imposition of such requirements might end up in a disastrous outcome. It might also not be possible for them to stay away from their residence due to some personal or family related emergencies.

In conclusion, it might seem a great idea by colleges and universities to require their students to spend at least one semester in a foreign country, but it might be impossible for a certain batch of students. If a rule is being applied across all educational institutions, adequate surveys should be taken into consideration whether all the students would be able to afford such high expenses. Also surveys should be done whether all courses necessarily need an experience from a foreign country.