Claim: Even though young people often receive the advice to “follow your dreams,” more emphasis should be placed on picking worthy goals.

Reason: Many people’s dreams are inherently selfish.

__________

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim AND the reason on which that claim is based.

One's intentions and the means by which one achieves one's objectives defines a person. The mentioned claim states that yougsters should select worthy goals based on the premise that their dreams are primarily selfish. However, I am of the opinion that there are no selfish dreams and differ with the author's claim which bifurcates goals into being worthy and unworthy.

Achieving one's goals is not a zero sum game, that is, one's gain can not be other person's loss. For instance, consider a musician who composes music and in the process is well compensated as well as achieves recognition for his work. However, his accumulation of wealth and his fame do not make his dreams unworthy because he intends to reach out to the masses through his melodious songs. Songs even have the power to heal people and are often used in pain therapy. Therefore, a musician is eventually helping a section of the society through his mellifluous songs.

Moreover, even a youth aspiring to be a portfolio manager at a firm is contributing positively to the society. One may belittle his goal by insinuating that he may be driven by the high salaried nature of the job but one may also argue that the high returns are a part of the high risk inherent in the job profile. A portfolio manager has a fiduciary relationship with his clients and helps them achieve the best possible targetted returns. Even a minor negligence at work may result in the loss of hard earned money of his investors and ultimately his job. The portfolio manager, by performing his duties ethically, is contributing towards the uplifting of the country's economy by assisting in strengthening the financial position of his investors.

The author should consider one's intentions and attitude in one's journey of achieving his goals. A portfolio manager who scams the investors by promising unfathomable high returns and runs away with the money makes people doubt the worthiness of one's dreams. His malignant intentions bring disgrace to the profession. Therefore, it would be wise to say that altruism is not associated with one's goals but with one's posture.