Although sound moral judgment is an important characteristic of an effective leader, it is not as important as a leader’s ability to maintain the respect of his or her peers.

Leaders are the ones with clear vision for their people. There are many characteristics which define a leader. Qualities such as integrity, ambition, determination, sound judgement are often believed to be possessed by a leader. Many leaders are revered for their incisive mind, their ability to drive a nation out of trying circumstances. However, one of the most important aspects which should be embodied in an ideal leader is that of commanding respect of its contemporaries along with its followers.

History is replete with examples where a leader who has a good standing among its peers has lead a nation to progress. One of the first few names that come to mind is of Pt. Jawaharlal Nehru, who served as the first Prime Minister of the independent India. He maintained commendable rapport with his peers, which is one of the reasons that people believed in him and joined him at the times of building the nation. He enjoyed the support of his adversaries, who believed that he always acted in the interests of the nation. One such instance is when he started non-alignment movement, which was joined by many young nations of the time. It gave the message that India could make its own path when the world was divided to show support to the two world powers that were a result of the World War II.

Another great political figure, highly regarded by many, is the former President of United States of America, Mr. Abraham Lincoln. He is credited with putting an end to the civil war of the 19th century which existed in the USA at the time. He fought for the rights of the native African American community and freed them from ages of slavery. Martin Luther King Jr. was also a great leader who enjoyed respect among his peers and worked against the racism in the USA.

It may however be noted that the above personalities have commanded respect from people beyond races, strata and been on the right side of morality. There are a few leaders who may have dubious moral judgement, such as Adolf Hitler, but still enjoyed support of their peers. Nonetheless, history has credited these leaders as tyrants, and they have lead the nations on the wrong path.

Given the above arguments, I believe a leader can make an indelible mark in the hearts of his people when he is respected by one and all. Also, it seems to be no doubt that respect follows a leader who is morally right and leads his people on the path of development.