Sports stars and movie stars have an obligation to behave as role models for the young people who look up to them. In return for the millions of dollars that they are paid, we should expect them to fulfill this societal responsibility.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Responsible role models are vital for young people in today's increasingly online world. Sports players and movie actors are among the people that today's children look up to, setting an example to them about what is morally apt and what is not. The prompt claims that these celebrities have an obligation to behave in a responsible manner, as a role model, to fulfill a social responsibility for the youngsters of today. In my opinion, I mostly agree with this claim, although I disagree with the reasoning cited. There are three main aspects of this issue that must be considered to substantiate this opinion.

To begin, sports players and movie actors do not have an 'option' to tap out of the sights of young people (or the public eye, at large). They play active roles in entertainment and sports, which are fields that let them accrue a large young supporter base due to the thrill and joy associated with movies and sports. Sports stars may have to thwart the opposing team, and movie stars may have to act in unconventional or villainous roles. In these spaces, one may argue that they should not have to behave as role models since they are portraying characters or are strategizing against an opponent. This is a fair statement, although it does not cover the issue's scope: In life outside of these settings, young fans continue to follow or subscribe to these influencers on social media platforms, and are interested not only in their professional lives, but in their social lives as well. Due to the fact that these personalities are very frequently in the public eye, they thus have an obligation to make responsible decisions and say the right words online.

Extrapolating from the previous point, social media has increased the power of these people in expressing their views to their audience, and the world. Take the Black Lives Matter movement of 2020 for example. If it were not for the widespread condemnation of unjust acts of violence by these influential people, the movement would not have had as deep the impact that it had on society. People may claim that it was a grassroots movement that began with the common man, which is true. But the effect that sports and movie personalities had in helping the movement 'go global' cannot be understated. Hence, these people have lots of power in moving their supporter base towards social causes, by sometimes simply acknowledging them.

Finally, one must consider the money that goes into paying out these people: This money does come from movie and sports tickets that people buy, but is only bought towards watching a certain movie or sports event. It would be unreasonable to extend this line of reasoning to include social responsibility, considering that these actors are their own people outside of these events; they have a work life and a personal life, and forcing them to change aspects of their personal life for their societal responsibility is not a fair argument to make. One may argue that sports people should not consume alcohol or engage in gambling, and while it is fair to say that they should not be openly encouraging their fans to take part in such activities, it would be an invasion of privacy to make them completely abstain from these things.

In conclusion, sports and movie personalities do have an obligation to behave as role models for the young people who look up to them, without it taking a toll on their private lives. They serve as important figures in the lives of young people, and do owe them some amount of responsibility when it comes to their behaviour in public, and online. However, they should not have to be 'absolute' role models with every aspect of their lives being perfect. Thus, I only mostly agree with the prompt's claim, due to its method of reasoning.