The real talent of a popular musician cannot accurately be assessed until the musician has been dead for several generations, so that his or her fame does not interfere with honest assessment

The letter to the editor for the West Lansburg News suggests that the West Lansburg council should not allow an access road to be built along the edge of wetlands so as to preserve the biodiversity of the region and ensure healthy environment. This suggestion is based solely on the fact that the Eastern Carpenteria lost their biodiversity when they repealed sanctuary of their region. Maintaining the biodiversity and ensuring a healthy community is important, however, more evidence is needed to evaluate the argument on repealing approval to build a road along the edge of wetlands.

Firstly, the argument is using the outcome of a region to opine that the road should not be built. It would be important to acertain that Eastern Carpenteria and West Lansburg are geographically similar. For instance, it could be that their is an industry in Eastern Carpenteria and when they repealed the santuary, the company used the area as a refuse dump leading to increase death of the sea otter, whereas West Lansburg does not have an industry and only plan on building road. If this were the case, the argument would not hold and more evidence would be needed to show similarities between the tow regions.

Secondly, the Eastern carpenteria santuary was repealed in 1978 whereas that of West Lansburg is up for debate in 2004. Using the result of a finding in 1978 to judged that of 2004 may not be accurate because there might have been an environmental disaster that led to a decline in the population of the sea otter and affected the safety of the environment, and repealing the santuary may not have influenced this result. Therefore, more evidence to clarify if a natural disaster occured during that period before the data could be used to judge that of West Lansburg.

Furthermore, the type of residents in both region may be different. Those in Eastern carpenteria may not be environmentally conscious whereas those living in Western Lansburg may be. If this were the case, building a road would not affect the biodiversity nor will it influence the health of the environment negatively. In fact, it could make the residents of West lansburg to be actively more involved in environmental sanitation leading to better community. Therefore, more evidence would be needed to assess the type of residents in both region before using the result of one region to influence decision in another.

In conclusion, more evidence is needed before the santuary should not be repealed.