students are more responsible for their education than their teachers

students should take the initiatives and be responsible for their own education from the start. However, teachers’ assistance should definitely be available when needed.

Firstly, students should take responsibilities of their own education to ensure them can develop the subjects they are truly interested and talented in. Ever since entering an educational institute, students should start taking responsibilities for their own education. Being a student means being exposed to knowledge of a vastly various subjects. Occasionally students will encounter the subjects which they are truly talented in. Nonetheless, teachers’ attention is distributed among a large number of students, hence are not able to attend to the need of each and every student. A student not taking responsibility for himself would let such opportunity slide, leading to waste of valuable talent. Thus, whether its primary school or 12th grade, students should proactively take responsibility for their own education.

Secondly, taking responsibility in their own education will also prepare the students to succeed in higher education institutes, namely universities. Students that are inured to their teachers' lead in education usually find themselves lost among different academic choices in the universities. Furthermore, they may find them wandering around different classrooms without a hint of what they should do. By assuming responsibilities before entering universities, students will know which road to advance, and how to advance. A self-motivated, self-governd, self-responsible scholar will never get lost in the forest of education, instead he will always question himself and know what direction to advance.

On the other hand, some argue the nature of teaching is to be responsible for the students’ education. While such statement is generally accepted as a fact, I must point out that one should also include self-motivated, self-governed, and self-responsible in a teacher’s teaching guideline. Eventually the students will enter an environment with little guidance of what-to-do, and it should be their teachers’ responsibility to prepare them to take responsibility for their own education.

In conclusion, students benefit greatly from taking responsibilities for their own education, whereas their teachers should lead them through at their side.