“Students should fund their education with part-time work that they do while they study.”

Education is one of the most important tools to make future leaders. Not surprisingly the requirements of quality education getting higher day by day, educational institutions are therefore adding new equipment, technological advancements including laptop, i-pad, power point facilities and so on. This additions make the education more expensive. In that case part-time work can be a great way of bearing cost of the education, however, part-time work requires a lot of hard work, sometimes it may harm the main purpose of education that is learning.

In this competitive world the key purpose of education is to get good grades to that a student can get a decent job and lead a good life. Par-time work often require long working hour. If a student works so long, he cannot concentrate in his extensive study. Also, they are often unable to attend extra-curricular activities. Naturally, they cannot enjoy the student life, which make them demotivated to study. Additionally, due to heavy work hour they may not be able to submit assignments timely or sore good on the exam or presentation. A survey of the center of Education, Georgetown University shows that 8 students out of 10 are now work as a part-timer and the feel that exhausted part-time work impede them to get good grade.

However, one cannot deny the fact that part-time work not only help the students to fund their education but also it provides a sense of responsibility among students. Students may become more independent. Moreover, students can afford their dream school if they work as part-timer as most of the good-ranked schools require more tuition fees. Studying good schools may help them to get good job in future. Though, this fact is partially true, because part-time jobs do not pay enough to cover tuition fees and leaving cost. Therefore, most of the students need to work extra hour to earn more.

Furthermore, part-time jobs are not related with professional areas. Students do not learn new skills while working in a restaurant or super shops. Rather unpaid internships are more beneficiary to gain experiences for job-market. As the internships are normally unpaid, low-income students cannot afford it because they need money to pay their tuition fees and living cost. Therefore, part-time jobs are not that helpful to get good job. So, we cannot encourage students to do part-time work for funding their studies before increasing good payment and professional part-time opportunities for the students.

In conclusion, it might be true that part-time work can help to bear the education cost, however, the wage of such work is low, and it requires high working hour, which maybe hinder to get good grades. Also, most of the part time jobs are not directly linked with professional area, therefore it also cannot guaranty good job after graduation. Therefore, without improving part-time job market we cannot agree with the statements wholeheartedly.