“Students should memorise facts only after they have studied the ideas, trends, and concepts that help explain those facts. Students who have learned only facts have learned very little.”

The speaker claims that student’s who never memories what they’ve learned hinder’s learning and they have gain little useful knowledge from it. I wholeheartedly agree with the speaker’s claim, because human mind is a heterogenous mixture of our memory which we had all these years. We keep assimilating information is our memory, which is either short-term memory or long-term memory. Accumulation of new information can make old one’s rusty and thereby has no use.

Firstly, today’s high-tech ever-growing and increasing complex world impedes learning ability of students because their mind has a lot to imbibe in each day thus, making more and more complexity in their mind. Such mind filled with mixture of different information faces difficulties in learning because they cannot relate it well with real worlds hence, this information stays in short-term memory of human brain and last for very short period. For instance, study of kindergarten includes images, graphics which helps students to grasp it fast thereby able to stay permanent in the mind. Students are able to relate, memories what are learning to real world with the help of graphical images, audio or video recording which makes their concept very clear and lasts for very long time.

Secondly, learning only facts can be useful theoretically on paper but not practically because in practical life, imagination with real world works better. Practical knowledge outweighs any other kind of knowledge because it helps to get hands on real trends and not learning only on paper. For example, hotel management has a variety of courses among which cooking needs practical knowledge because it has so many recipes. Learning only recipes and not practically cooking cannot make you a good chef. Good chef’s is one who has made loads of recipes in his cooking career which highlighted his experience on different dishes.

Thirdly, a sharp memory makes learning more efficient and increasing the grasping power of the human brain. We’re often told to learn with the help of example’s which help’s us to understand the concept’s better and while using those concept’s we can memorise our past experience to tackle the real world problem. For instance, in bachelors of engineering course exams are conducted in semester patter which includes theoretical and also practical examination. A programer who loves coding is always judged on his experience in coding, projects and coding competitions like hackathon’s which show’s his coding skills. In this case coding experience with real world problem is given much importance than skills written in his resume.

In the final analysis, human mind tends to learn more effectively when it includes learning with the help of real world experience and examples rather than just textual knowledge. The knowledge gained through learning with its application remains in our long term memory and helps us to use it appropriately in our day to day lives. Students should have more practical knowledge which help’s them to clear their textual concepts and which can make them a good learner.