The study of an academic discipline alters the ways we perceive the world. After studying the discipline, we see the same world as before, but with different eyes.

Education is one of the driving forces of this world. Education provides an individual a sense of commitment and adds purpose to one’s life. The statement above suggest that individuals perceive the world with different eyes after studying a particular discipline. Although the statement tends to be correct, it is sure that the above case is not necessary for all individuals.

To begin with, study of an academic discipline does offer an individual to focus on areas pertaining to the study. This is most likely in case of most individuals out there. For instance, young millennials who wish to study technical related fields such as engineering and medicine, can be argued to have a technical look towards the world. Engineers, and in fact mechanical engineers view automobiles as series of activities such as chassis, suspension and so on. Similarly, Doctors and medical scientists look to each individual and make come up with radical thoughts to irradiate diseases that plague the human society. While the above statement seems to be true, the shift in view entirely depends on the nature and character of the individual.

What is to be understood is that, academic discipline provides the path for an individual to walk. Whether to walk the path offered or to pursue another path is entirely dependent on the individual. It is to be understood that all people are different. People come from different backgrounds, such as financial and social and have an identity of their own. They have their own interests and hobbies. Therefore, the statement stating that “pursuing an academic discipline alters the way one perceive the world” is not applicable to every individual. For some people study in a particular subject does change his or her views but in case of others it need not be the same case . For instance, just by pursuing engineering does not really have to make an individual inclined to look at the world as an engineer does. The individual may have hobbies and interests that he or she would like pursue as their career. On the other hand there are others who does take up an academic study because they want to pursue their career in that particular field of study. These individuals does look at the world in a different way. Therefore a study in a particular discipline need to necessarily promote different views. It solely depends on the individual.

Similarly, there are individuals who start to view the world in a different view, because of some unprecedented factors that affect them. For instance, environment conservation was not an academic study that was given due importance in the past century. However, the growing concerns of drastic climatic issues such as global warming, increased pollution levels have lead certain maverick individuals not to turn a blind eye to the situation , but to confront it and bring its effects to the minimum. It is not necessary that a study in academic discipline is the motivating force for this change. It can be seriously argued that certain individuals irrespective of whether they even received education or not are prominent personalities who leads the change. Therefore, academic discipline is not necessary to change the views of an individual.

Academic studies does offer a path to people to follow their dreams. However, it is no necessary that academic studies can change the views of all the people. This is dues to the simple fact that all individuals are different from each other. For some people, academic studies do change but in others, this may not be the same.