The surest indicator of a great nation is not the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists, but the general wellbeing of all its people.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

There exist diverse perspectives to assess the extent of achievement of a nation, or how the nation is great, in other words: economic growth, artistic success, general welfare of the citizens, and so on. Some people may assert that the most direct indication would be the general wellbeing of all citoyens; I disagree nevertheless to the given claim, since the achievements of rulers and artists are the veritable strong indicators over the general welfare.

First of all, the success of a ruler is a very prominent factor which puts the nation on the level of esteem. To illustrate, take Angela Merkel, the former chancellor of Germany, as a compelling example. When she took over the position in early 2000s, Germany used to be defamed as “the sick man of Europe”, showing unstable economy with high unemployment rate. Chancellor Merkel solved the entangled economic problem by means of her endeavors in diplomacy and economic reformation. She redefined the diplomatic relationships between Russia, constructing stable and cheap supply lines of petroleum and natural gas, while establishing new friendship with China, creating the biggest trade partner. Now, no one doubts that Germany is the greatest nation in the European Union, in terms of economy, politics, and diplomacy; this assertion is even bestowed by the fact that Germany had aided the EU nations during its economic crisis, which could be realized by the success of Merkel.

Furthermore, the accomplishment of artists is another critical factor which determines the extent of reputation of a nation. Jun-Ho Bong, a film director from South Korea, would be a prominent example: he had acquired a series of successful films, over the globe, which is epitomized by the syndrome of “Parasites” in 2019. His film won the trophies from numerous respected organizations including Festival de Cannes and Academy Awards. His film was not only valued by the extent of artistic completeness, but also by the fact that it was the first non-English film to win trophies in the whole history of Academy Awards. In virtue of his acquisition in his field, Korea is now regarded as one of the most impactful nations in the film industry, and the number of people who is learning Korea significantly increased in recent years. This recent example demonstrates how the achievement of artists is important to make a nation great.

Finally, even though it must be admitted that the level of general wellbeing of the people is very important, yet it cannot be a reliable indicator which tells whether a certain nation is prestigious or not. Republic of Turkiye, of simply Turkey, would be an unfortunate but perfect example. Its president, Recep Erdogan, came out with a myriad of pork-barrel pledges in his last election: he promised free natural gas for family use, profound financial aid for healthcare, increase of salaries of public workers almost about 50 percent, and so on. At first glance, it does looks like a strong financial welfare system for the people. However, it is true that almost no one would say, that Turkey is a great nation because of its strong wellbeing policy. In fact, the policy would show the effects of the opposite direction by indeed degenerating its economic status. This is a conspicuous epitome which corroborates that the level of general welfare is never a valuable barometer of the extent of greatness of a country,

In summary, despite the importance of general wellbeing of people, the most veritable measures of eminence of a nation are the achievements of its social leaders, especially rulers and artists. Based on this scrutiny which covers prominent examples of modern global society, a country would have to make significant endeavors for such accomplishments in order to acquaint such a degree of esteem. (621 words)