Issue 30: Teachers’ salaries should be based on their students’ academic performance.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that coud be used to challenge your position.

In modern society, many measures have been discussed in order to optimize the efficiency and efficacy of public education. In order to achieve the aim, it is true that higher extent of motivation of teachers is required, as well as more active participation of students. In that respect, I disagree with the given claim that teachers’ salaries should be based on their students’ academic performance, because I believe that it is likely to engender rather negative effects on the education.

It is undeniable that some extent of incentive is indeed a very motivating system for workers, and therefore teachers could be highly motivated. Yet the field may be different, many companies based on information technologies such as Google and Apple are some compelling examples. They guarantee high degree of incentive in order to foment the fervent atmosphere among their employees. This strategy looks very successful, regarding that the workers are indeed showing their best endeavor in their workplaces and also many students aim to get in those companies for such economic compensations. As these conspicuous examples demonstrate, teachers will be very encouraged to construct more efficient form of class with more passionate attitude during their classes.

However, it must be pointed that such motivations could be very ephemeral. Take same companies as examples. Big portion of employees finally quit their job for all the substantial recompense, because they become worn out after several years of arduous works; in other words, burn-out. Those who quit their jobs, seek other small companies that are able to pursue their personal time and quality of life, despite the relatively low level of economic reward. Furthermore, regarding that the academic performance is not accomplished solely by passion of teachers but also by motivated students, certain teachers who experience the meaninglessness of their sincere attitudes will be eventually demoralized. Thus, the “motivation” of the incentive system may rather harm the overall atmosphere of teachers.

Finally, academic performance is not the only crucial factor of education, which is the most important point. There are multiple aims of education, such as improving communication skills and the ability of critical thinking. South Korea would be an epitome that demonstrates the negative effects, which may be born due when teachers are encouraged only for the academic performance. High school students devote themselves only for earning good points in Korean, mathematics, English, and several optional subjects, while almost totally neglecting the importance of music, art, and physical education. Even art teachers relinquish their class, letting their students to study mathematics and English. Nearly no Korean student agrees that this is a beneficial phenomenon. This prominent example proves that the academic accomplishment should not be the only goal of education.

In summary, I believe that teachers should not be offered salaries based only on their students’ scores, since it will finally distress the large portion of teachers, while effacing other important goals of education except earning a good grade. It is very important to discuss various new pedagogic methods and supportive systems in order to enhance the overall level and efficacy of public education. (512 words)