A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

In South Korea, there is a saying that the pedagogy is a plan of hundreds of years; the system of education always has been one of the most predominant issue, in our history, planning the future of each nation. To date, some nations have chosen to offer some extent of latitude to each province and school, while others are sticking to a national curriculum. I disagree, yet, with the given statement that a nation must oblige all students to follow its uniform contents, since it does degenerate the ultimate goal of education and demoralize prodigies, which may end up with deteriorating the national competitivity.

It cannot be denied that a uniform setting has some advantages, including the quality control, fairness, and the way of evaluating students. In South Korea, which may be a prominent example, there is a national curriculum with a strict qualification of candidates to become a teacher. This system does guarantee a minimum level of expertise of teachers in their subjects, who will offer a controlled quality of public education to students, regardless of their socioeconomic backgrounds. Since all students are learning the same content, it is also very effective to evaluate them with a single examination, or Sooneung, which is held once a year. Entry into universities, based on the Sooneung score, offers irrefutable objectivity with the least chance of being affected by their socioeconomic status. South Korea, the epitome of a national curriculum, conspicuously reveals its benefits, since such quality control, fairness, and objectivity are difficult to be achieved with discrete versions of education.

Nevertheless, by enforcing teachers to offer classes of the same contents, which will be finally ending up with a single test, the ultimate goal of education may be easily breached: earning good grades. Take South Korea again for a prominent example. Mathematics teachers simply convey skills to solve integration problems quickly, rather than the veritable reason to learn such methodology. Music and art teachers give up their classes, and just leave the students to prepare for the coming Sooneung, simply because music and art are not covered in this exam. Students, in parallel, relinquish all except for Korean, mathematics, English, and some options, as their only goal is a fine score. Donors and acceptors are all inevitably violating the true purpose of education, which is to enhance the power of thinking. This compelling example shows that a unified form of education does not necessarily operate in good ways, as well.

Finally, evaluating students by a single criterion definitely dispirit prodigies of each field and finally hamper the spectrum of students. If an would-be-artist must be very good at mathematics to gain opportunities of art education at universities, many art prodigies might fail to reach there. If a potential physicist should prove his great level of literature as well, many students will be filtered out by the literature score. It is not difficult to deduce that forcing students, under the same system of education and the same standard of examination, will thwart the passion of young students to hone their talent and to become an expert in their fields. In South Korea, again, it is not difficult to see students deciding to study abroad for these reasons. Many preeminent pianists and violinists are all educated in the Europe, and they do not hesitate reproaching the invariable educational system of Korea. Hence, such uniformity definitely degenerates the expertise in each field, which will end up the diminished national competence.

In summary, the policy to set a uniform national curriculum should not be implemented due to the consequences stated above. In particular, this policy would deform the ultimate goal of education and dishearten students to hone their own specialty. Instead of focusing on efficiency to convey intelligence to and evaluate students, a nation should try its best to import some extent of latitude, flexibility, and variety in its pedagogy system. (646)