The surest indicator of a great nation is represented not by the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists, but by the general welfare of its people.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

It is known that political, cultural, and scientifical aspects are important ways to measure the greatness of a nation. Using these parameters is one of right approaches to assess if a nation is a leading authority worldwide. However, the surest indicator that represent the importance of a nation is the general wellbeing of its people. Therefore, I agree with the given statement, since indeed the general welfare of people represent the standard of life of the country as well as the economic and social development.

The people’s well-being can be measure by social indicators such as education, income and health indicators. These indicators are utilized to measure the development status of all nations around the world. Because they depict the lifestyle and conditions besides the correlated behaviors. For example, in a small and very poor country in Africa continent although it may has important artists that represent very well their culture worldwide, what will represent the greatness of this nation will be the education level, the income distribution of its residents, the access to sanitation and clean water.

Furthermore, the United States is a great example of why the greatness of nation is best measure by people’s wellness. For instance, the American dream represents that people all around the world see the greatness of United States based on indicators that they will have best conditions of education and better salaries and job opportunities. In other words, they believe that there they will guarantee better life conditions for their beloved ones. They assume this based on social indicators or the general welfare of American people.

Many people may argue that the achievements of politicians, scientists or artists best represents the greatness of a nation, because culture, politics and technological development are very important to the overall development of a nation. For instance, Brazil may be known by carnival, Japan may be known by it robots and technological advances, North Corea may be known by its authoritarian government. However, I believe that these are general indicators that help us just to know superficially about a nation. Therefore, I strongly believe that the surest indicator that best represent the greatness of a nation is its people well-being.