Teacher's salaries should be based on their students performance

What do you think, should teacher’s salaries be based on student academic performance? Some people might argue that the performance of students be evaluated to determine how much teachers get paid, but others would argue that student academic performance should not factor in when determining how much to pay the teachers. After weighing the evidence, it is clear that student academic performance should not be used to measure how much teachers deserves to get paid.

A fundamental argument that may favour the case that student academic performance be used to determine teacher salaries is that, the teachers would be extra motivated to work, to teach students better because they know their salaries is on the line, which could in theory result into better performance by the students.

However, notwithstanding the foregoing argument that favours the case that pupil academic performance should be measured to determine what to pay teachers, if the teachers push the students too much, it could yield negative effects. For example, consider a teacher generally known for his/her short temper, then this policy of considering students performances before paying teachers comes into action, when such teacher pushes the students to do better and the student does not respond, it could frustrate the severe effort of the teacher, and cause the teacher to channel anger towards such student, resulting in the students been unhappy at school, and getting depressed.

Another example is that, when students are pushed too hard by their teachers, they could respond in an even cynical manner, by failing on purpose. For example, consider college kids pushed by their professors to do better, they would love nothing more than to unionise and fail on purpose, just to get back at their teacher.

Lastly, this policy would certainly result in teachers been unhappy, for them, it would mean their work is under constant scrutiny. In such cases, it could possibly develop a toxic environment, for the students, and for the teacher, therefore impeding learning.

In conclusion, I believe the students academic performance should not be used as a measure of how much to pay teachers. The points stated above are exception examples of why students performances should not used to determine how much to pay teachers.