The director of the International Health Foundation
recently released this announcement:
“A new medical test that allows the early detection of a
particular disease will prevent the deaths of people all over
the world who would otherwise die from the disease. The
test has been extremely effective in allowing doctors to
diagnose the disease six months to a year before it would
have been spotted by conventional means. As soon as we
can institute this test as routine procedure in hospitals
around the world, the death rate from this disease will
plummet.”
The argument that the new medical test will prevent deaths that
would have occurred in the past is not entirely logically convincing
since it ignores certain crucial assumptions.
First, the argument assumes that early detection of the disease will
lead to an immediate drop in the mortality rate from this disease,
yet it does nothing to explain how this will happen, and so on.
Second, the argument never addresses the point that the existence
of this new test, even if totally effective, is not the same as the
widespread use of the test, and so on.
Finally, even supposing the ability of early detection to save lives
and the widespread use of the test, the argument still depends on
the doctors’ correct interpretation of the test and the patients’
willingness to undergo treatment, and so on.
Thus, the argument is not completely sound. The evidence in
support of the conclusion that the test will cause death rates to
plummet does little to prove that conclusion, since it does not
address the assumptions already raised.
Ultimately, the argument
might have been strengthened if the author could have shown that
the disease responds to early treatment, which can be enacted
immediately upon receipt of the test results, that the test will be
widely available around the world, and that doctors and patients will make proper use of the test.