Teachers' salaries should be based on their students' academic performance.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The speaker asserts that teachers’ salaries should be based on students’ performance. It is true that higher salaries will spur teachers’ fighting spirit, which will improve quality of teaching. However, it also has negative influence on teachers and students. And the examination could not measure students’ condition. Thus, I strongly disagree with the speaker.

To begin with, the things that teachers’ salaries will rely on student’s academic performance have negative effect on teachers, since overly emphasizing scores will make teachers’ course becoming utilitarian. Only focusing on scores makes teachers ignoring their responsibility: developing students. Lacking concentrating on characteristics and developing ability induces decreasing the quality of teaching. And another question is that teachers will contest for attracting more students. For example, if teachers want to earn more money, they should attract more students. So, it is necessary to contest because there a fixed number of students. In sum, teachers’ salaries should not rely on student’s performance.

On the other hand, the things teachers’ salaries depend on students’ performance exercise an negative influence in students, because students is incapable of learning using a correct attitude. Lacking a correct attitude to study impede students from improving. As a result, students could not fulfilling them to facilitate development of vocation in the future. For instance, if students learn only one skill: getting high scores, the development of country will be impeded, since country full of those who lacks skill except for getting high scores. In a word, the things that teachers’ salaries rely on students’ performance will cause contrary effect on students, which will impede country from developing.

Finally, examination is not a useful way, because it is incapable of measuring students’ condition. And Scores couldn’t reflect students’ study condition; Perhaps students learn well but get lower scores in the test. For example, Bill Gates dropped out of Harvard after studying only six months. It is difficult to say that Bill Gates has a poor performance since he lacks academic study. In brief, because examination is unable to measure students’ condition, teachers’ salaries should not base on students’ academic performance.

To sum up, the things that teachers’ salaries depend on students’ performance have negative effect on teachers and students. And the examination is incapable of knowing students’ condition. I totally disagree with what the speaker says.