Teachers' salaries should be based on their students' academic performance.

*Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.*

As Benjamin Franklin said, "An investment in knowledge always pays the best interest". So much of what we know about the world comes from ours teachers who equip us with knowledge, skills and wisdom to lead a better life. Teaching is a tough job, and teachers play an essential role in developing society and the nation. The prompt recommends that the teacher's salaries be based on their student's academic performance. Mostly disagreeing with this suggestion and argue that teachers must get entitled to bonuses apart from earning a fixed income for two reasons.

To begin with, the percentage of people taking up teaching jobs is dropping, and the educational bodies are finding it difficult to hire qualified teachers. For instance, In the survey conducted in 2018 by the education ministry in the US showed a much drop in the people taking up the teaching profession since 2010-2015, and it is only going to drop more by the year 2024. The reason is that educational institutes are finding it hard to hire new talent and keep their current qualified teachers. Unlike the nine to six corporate jobs where the employees salaries depend on the market fluctuations, teachers salaries do not depend on the market trends. The teachers get paid according to the standards and guidelines set by the school districts and unions. The above example illustrates that the decline in the teaching profession is due to the low salaries and the challenging environment where they work. The training and the quality of education provided for the teachers is another reason leading to the decline in finding good teachers.

Further, we see that the student's academic performance may not solely depend on how brilliant the teacher is. For instance, if we consider some of the other factors like student absenteeism, class-cutting, student dislike, lack of parental involvement and poor student health, all this directly impacts student performance. It will be unscrupulous to base the teacher's income solely on the student performance considering all these factors. It will only lead to discouragement among people taking up the teaching profession and lead to more shortage of teachers. A teacher's job does not just end at six in the evening; instead, it goes beyond that. They are not just graders, but they act as coaches and mentors to the students. They expand and push student limits and creativity, in turn shaping their lives to become better people. So it is crucial to give them a proper working environment where they can flourish and help nurture and grow young talent.

Of course, some argue that teachers already have so much autonomy in their jobs. Furthermore, basing the teacher's salaries on students' academic performance might encourage them to push abilities even more. However, if this is true, it might also lead to teachers adopting unfair means to encourage their students to do better and generate higher income for themselves. As a result, teaching becomes a way of making money in the long run and not the medium of imparting sound education and creating complete human beings.