Teachers' salaries should be based on their students' academic performance.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Teachers are second to parents when it comes to learning. They hold important roles in shaping the lives of their students and in turn the quality of individuals in a society. Thus, evaluating the quality of knowledge transferred is crucial. This prompt suggests that the wages of teachers should commensurate to the academic performance of their students. I strongly disagree with this claim, and for three reasons would argue that the academic performance of a student should not be the factor on which a teacher's pay is based.

First of all, it could be argued that the qualification of a tutor equals the quality of the knowledge disseminated, however, several factors beyond the control or influence of a teacher contribute to how well a student performs academically. These factors include; Psychological and emotional factors, financial status, IQ level, social and environmental factors, and so on. For instance, the academic performance of a child whose parents are getting divorced could be affected due to the emotional trauma he/she is going through. In this case, the teacher cannot be held responsible for the poor performance of the student. Therefore it would be unfair to base a teacher's salary on a student's performance.

Secondly, it could be suggested that if the salaries of teachers are based on how well their students perform, this would motivate teachers to work harder on ensuring the academic success of their students. However, this would produce a counter result as the drive for higher pay would make teachers push their students too hard in a bid to improve their performances. This act would lead to exhaustion for these students, giving them little to no time for extracurricular activities and relaxation, and overall worsening performances.