Technology, while apparently aimed to simplify our lives, only makes our lives more complicated.

During the beginning of the technological era, I assumed that technology will better help our lives and make everything more simple and easy. Our modern technology is a simple yet complicated advancement of old technology. As years went on, it is about 15 years since the start of iPods, iPhones, iPads, and touch screen phones though I have realized its only making the owners of these devices less intelligent and more addicted to screen time.

I do agree with the statement because as much as technology helps us to invent useful tools for medical health issues, jobs, and education, it also brings us down at the same time. For example, I mention phones help us by having Google, so we can look up anything, anytime, and anywhere. With an on-phone calculator, this has dragged us to use it instead of using our own mathematical skills to figure out simple addition and subtraction. It is useful for the applications that are used for educational purposes. I mention jobs because many jobs are being taken away from emplyees due to new technology being used instead of an actual human being. For example, self-checkout at grocery stores such as Sams Club instead of a cashier. What happened to all those employees who may have lost their jobs due to this new technology? This may have made their own life complicated due to needing to find another job.

On the other hand, many kids, young adolescents, and even adults are using their time binge-watching on Netflix and Hulu during their summers instead of playing catch outside, exercising, or soaking up the fresh sunlight. I believe there is something addictive to the electronics were are using that cannot make us stop and put our phones down for even just an hour. Technology is definitely doing more harm then good. I see with mobile technology especially, has ruined the childhood of many young children because they have been introduced to phones and tablets before even the age of one. They are growing up with social anxiety because they are always behind a screen rather then being face-to-face having an actual conversation.

Yes, this statement might not hold true with medical technology as we can see many advances towards medical conditions being treated or cured in the near future.

I agree with the statement especially with mobile technology and the reasoning I have is that I have seen it with my own eyes. I have nine cousins who are significantly younger than me and I have seen them grow up with technology in their hands and their eyes glued to it. I take this position because I have seen first-hand how technology is in-fact making our lives more complicated rather than simple.