Universities should require students to take courses only within those fields they are interested in studying.

I disagree with the policy because I see that there are plenty of pros that trump the cons when students take courses that are outside the field they are interested in studying.

If this policy was required, then the classes should only be taken during the first and second year of university. I say this because as an incoming freshman, students do not know much about what types of careers and jobs that are waiting out in the real world. Taking a class outside of the field you think you want to be in may lead you to find something you would like that you never thought would be in your interest of field.

The consequences of implementing the policy is that students would save money instead of taking those "extra" courses. For example, a student who is majoring in a finance degree may think that she should not have to take a biology course - although it is apart of her general education classes. If this policy was in order, she would not have to waste the time and money taking this courses. Although on the other hand, taking other courses that do not line up in your field of study may teach you many things about those subjects. The girl who thinks she wants a finance degree may find biology and medicine super interesting, but she would have never known if she had not taken the class. Just taking different types of classes may give you knowledge you thought you would not need, but may come as very helpful in the future.

Yes, not taking these extra classes may help students save their time and money. Although, there are a handful of students that start college but are still undecided. Those students should especially be given the opportunity to discover all different routes of courses to find out what interests them and what they want to learn more and more of. If a student majoring in Health Sciences takes a business class but ends up despising the subject, they learned they would never want to be in the business field. This will make the individual grow and have passion for the subject they do want to learn after realizing another class was not their calling.

In the end, this policy should not be allowed. Students should be given the opportunity to discover new courses and subjects which will teach them what they actually want to learn for the future.