Technology, while apparently aimed to simplify our lives, only makes our lives more complicated.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The past two decades have seen an unprecedented rise in technology that humanity has ever seen. From the development of simple but need an application like cellular phones to robots and drones that can travel in space. Though the rise of technology primarily aims at improving a person’s state of living, it is undeniable that it brings a whole array of complexity to the table.

To start with, with the dawn of technology came the rise of social media. Social media though initially created to connect people across the world has now evolved into a living and breathing entity dictating how people’s life, livelihood, and social life plays out. To illustrate this clearly let’s take a scenario that can be observed in social media, Let’s say there are two people X and Y. X has an opinion that coincides with the majority of the audience of the platform whereas has the Y person has a diametric view on the same topic which doesn’t go along with the general audience. Though Y must be allowed to be entitled of his opinion is still bastardized for his opinion to a point where his livelihood and personal life are affected. This example clearly shows how it is tough to navigate through social media which undoubtedly adds a layer of complexity to every person’s life.

Despite the previous argument, people would counter-argue that there are more development and economic growth seen in the last few decades due to the rise of new technology. which though true, but at what cost? If losing basic human rights and decency is what is required to have a better economy and development then, we humans have not taken a step forward but a step backward in the aspect of development. Technology should complement humanity’s social behaviours not help the triple one another.

ergo, to reiterate, technology in spite of helping in making human life easier has bought with it a culture that brings forth more complications than we initially signed up for.