Technology, while apparently aimed to simplify our lives, only makes our lives more complicated.

Technology has greatly improved our lifestyle, ranging from efficient travelling techniques to communication. Internet is one of the best examples when it comes to how convenient our life has become due to the aid of technology, making access to data so efficient from anywhere in the world. Mortality rates have gone down due to the advancement in technology, there are cure for diseases which were previously deemed as fatal. Technology has given us the power of focusing on more complex problems by taking care of the relatively simple, perfunctory tasks in our daily lives.

The improvement of technology has greatly improved the way we communicate. A century earlier we relied mostly on postal communication, which was handwritten and had a very low chance of the communication getting through. Introduction of email and telephones have greatly improved these chances, within a fraction of a second you can get in touch with anyone in the world no matter how far they stay. The feature of video calling which leverages high-speed internet connection has made our world much smaller bringing everyone so close to each other.

Due to the advancement in technology travelling from one place to another has been made so efficient that travelling thousands of miles takes us barely a few hours, which our ancestors would have taken months to cover. Travelling now via airplanes are not only time efficient but also safe, unlike travelling via ships which were highly inconvenient and accident-prone leading to a great number of people losing their lives.

Access to data has been made so much easier, the introduction of cloud computing has made access to our personal data a few clicks away from anywhere. Terabytes and gigabytes of data is made available over the internet, which is so convenient because all you need is a computer and internet to access it, may it be any part of the world.

Although technology has made are life much simpler, there are still a few drawbacks which in turn lead to further complicating our lives. For example data stored in cloud, if a hacker is able to hack into your account, he can access your private data which can have a very detrimental effect like, impersonation by using your personal identification documents that might have been stored there and could use it for illegal activities. So additional steps are needed to secure your data, like setting up a difficult password and updating it quarterly so that hacking becomes not very easy, thus complicating our lives.

Thus it is safe to say that technology in many ways has simplified our lives to an extent where technology can help us get rid of the mundane tasks and focus on the more complicated problems in life.