Governments should place few, if any, restrictions on scientific research and development.
Science has provided us with lot of solutions to problems ranging from healthcare, energy to communication. If scientific research and development was to be restricted human race would not
have evolved and would have perished to even slight climatic changes and natural disasters. Science provides us with the tools to deal with the adverse conditions that mother nature
confers us with. Science equips us withs the tools to deal with the perfunctory tasks, so that time can be more effectively utilised in solving more comple problems.
One of the most significant development has been seen in the field of biochemistry. There is cure present for almost any kind of disease, due to which life expectancy has proliferated.
For example the drug marijuana which is illegal in a lot of the countries, scientists have researched and found the drug to be having medicinal properties for fatal diseases like cancer.
The dispensation given by the government has led to the development of such a cure, which otherwise would have been unknown.
Another remarkable discovery was made in the field of alternate sources of energy. The world as we know is running out of fossil fuels and the sources of renewable energy are not efficient
enough to fulfil the energy needs of the evergrowing population. The discovery of nuclear power was a great breakthrough in this field providing us both a sustainable and cleaner source of
energy unlike fossil fuels which were harmful to the environment as well due to the excessive emissions.
Although the unrestricted research has given us a lot of benefits and made our life easier, it also has its negative impacts. Development of nuclear science lead to development of weapons
of mass destruction like nuclear bombs, the research of development if restricted by the government would have not caused destruction of Japan during world war II.
Scientific research is very important for evolution of human beings, if science is limited by government laws and restrictions it might lead to possible stagnation of our human race.