Recent incursions by deep-sea fishermen into the habitat of the Madagascan shrimp have led to a significant reduction in the species population. With the breeding season fast approaching, the number of shrimp should soon begin to increase. Nonetheless, the population should not return to the levels before the fishing boats arrived. Because this trend is expected to continue over the next several years, the Madagascan shrimp will quickly become an endangered species.

Living organisms have their own ways of dealing against adverse conditions, might be sometimes they perish in trying to deal with adverse conditions, chances are they remain unaffected by building resilience and adapting to the new surroundings and conditions.

The first assumption the author takes regarding the decrease in shrimp population is due to the recent incursions by deep sea fishermen, might be invalid. There are huge number of reasons that can be present for their reduction in number, might be due to a new offshore oil drill which due to its toxic emissions might be killing the shrimps. Reduction in population of shrimps can also be accounted for the change in weather due to global warming making the conditions and milieu inhabitable for the shrimps. If proper steps are taken by the oil drill to deal with the toxic emissions, there is a chance that the population of the Madagascan shrimps return back to the way it was before.

Due to the above mentioned pollution problems these shrimps might migrate from their current habitat in response to the adverse conditions, thus they might have good chances of multiplying their population. They might even delay the breeding season until the conditions are right for their offsprings, thus the population might not decrease as the author pointed out.

Increase in water pollution might lead to shrimps carrying various diseases which when human being consumes might be fatal, which in turn leads the fishermen to stop fishing for Madagascan shrimps, thus not decreasing their population due to over fishing.

All the reasons accounted above can lead to population of Madagascan shrimps to remain unaffected, thus never coming to a point where they become endangered species.