Universities should require students to take courses only within those fields they are interested in studying.

Universties are considered as one of the major hubs of learning, by offering subjects from various disciplines to meet the expectation of the current world's versatility. Some courses innately look more attractive due to their sheer market value, for example, a course like data science where a huge number of openings are present in various tech giants, which lead to students having a bias towards the course, making the course look more attractive. Universities are not just about getting equipped technically with the tools to deal with real world problems but also develop a students personality, which can help them in becoming a better citizen of the society.

The trends relating to various courses is pretty dynamic in nature, a course which might have been high in demand 10 years back might not be relevant anymore due to its market value. So if a pupil graduates from the university having more diverse/interdisciplinarian degree, chances are his or her future might be more secure and he or she is not bound to one discipline. For example, if a student takes a course in python programming which is currently an industry standard, but might be 15 years from now a better programming language gets developed which migh replace python and become the industry leader.

Now addressing the point to the university not being just the place to learn all the technicalities but a place to mould a good citizen, who is ready to contribute in the upliftment of the society. Offering courses like psychology along with some technical courses, might help students to understand people and their behaviour. For example, if a developer is building a website he must understand how the end user is going to perceive it, how the user experience should be, which can be acquired from psychology, which under no circumstances comes under web development but helps the developer to make correct decisions regarding the look and feel of the website.

Universities not being so easy to graduate from, it can be cumbersome for students to study an array of subjects from various fields. Which in turn might lead to increase in stress level of students which can be detrimental for their wellness. Subjects might be difficult to pass if they belong to a field which they are not interested in.

Thus universtites should allow students to have a much more varied courses in their curriculum to make them better equipped for the current over competetive world.