True success can be measured primarily in terms of the goals one sets for oneself.

The statement claims that true success can be measured by the goal one sets for oneself. I agree with this statement insofar as different people has different goal and their determination of success are different. Success is measured by how closely you reached your goal. Goal is determined the ultimate and final destination and success is measured by this. However, there are some objects that have the fixed goal that is set universally not set by oneself. And the success level are measured by universally not by one.

One compelling argument in favor on my position is, in our society different person has different goal that is set by oneself. The definitions of success are totally different from each others. For example, poor people in the society has the goal to meet their basic needs properly and they thought it is their goal. When they meet this successfully think as a winner. On the other hand the homeless dream is to make a home to live and this is his ulimate goal. Similarly for rich people goal is to increase their wealth and asssets. So different types of people has different goal and when they reach this successfully think as a winner.

Another argument is in the society goal is the temporary things and it is changable. In the capitalist society, everyone want more and more. And when they meet their primary goal then target for another goal. So the defination of success for him will be changed after being success. So the success is measured by the goal set by oneself. For example, when a homeless will be successfully build a home then his target will be changed and think for better home and settlement. And the previous success will be faded for him.

Moeover, in the society, for the same wealth can makes someone's happy and someone's unhappy. That means their goal is not alligned with this because of the setted goal by oneself. In the exam someone's get 3.5 out of 5 and think himself as a successful person on the other hand someone who get 4.7 out of 5 are totally unhappy and think as a failure.

However, in the competitive world, there are some goal that are setted by universally not by oneself. And the level of success is determine by externally not by one. For example, in the university admission exam, everyone's have the common goal to get chance in the university. And this is fixed by the university controlling committee not by oneself. When anyone not passed the exam not considered as successful person. In the business, to increase the market share is the common goal for all competitor. In the pace society, some goals are common and these are setted by externally not oneself.

In conclusion, most othe goal set by oneself and consider successful when he fulfill this goal but in the competition world most of the goals are common for all competitor and the success are measured by externally. Nonetheless, goal also set by oneself in the competition world because the goal never been end and a person never been successful if he measures the goal externally. So there must be some goal that ais set by oneself and measure the success by completing the goal