The true test of the greatness of a work of art is its ability to be understood by the masses.

In my opinion, an artwork is truly great only if at least after an explanation, people actually understand what the artist is trying to convey. When I was a child, I used to think 'art' only meant the kind of things taught in an Arts & Crafts class. I later discovered that the definition included music, dance, theatre and so on. A couple of years later, I discovered that subjects such as economics and political science were tagged arts subjects.

A work of art is the result of an artist or multiple artists expressing their thoughts and messages through a medium. In some paintings, every stroke shows emotion. It may not be understood by all but it can be discerned by experts and when explained to the masses, they get what the painting is trying to convey. It is pure silliness when you have a painting which looks like a couple of blotches of paint thrown by a 3 year old auctioning off for millions of dollars. These are the kind of paintings which people only pretend to understand.

Another example is music. We have all sorts of genres from rock and roll to blues. When people understand what the music is trying to convey, that is when it's achieved it's purpose.

Some may say that some people are not recondite enough to understand some pieces of art. Zoom to today where we now have performance art and modern art. People can put up the most random things for display and call it art. I doubt anyone in the audience with their 'oohs' and 'aahs' isn't just a sheep in the herd. It's past silliness now. Recently, in a famous modern art museum, someone left a pair of glasses on the floor. People were confused and thought it was part of the exhibit. They came up with their own interpretations for it. This is what that sort of thinking results in.