To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

A society is build up of diverse cultures and tradition. These tradition or culture can be found any part of the country or society. In order to study a society we need to visit or study every aspects of the society; it is not necessary that only the major cities will depict each and every aspect of the society. A society will have a wide range of histories, that needs to be explored or that needs to be brought focus on.

Major cities will describe the contemporary life, or how well a society is economically developing; but these cities won't display every aspects of the society. It will be more focused on the "developing" aspects or on the "new trends" of the society. A good example for this fact would be the city which never sleeps, i.e. "Mumbai". Mumbai is known for its ongoing-life, never stopping life or the city where all the stardom resides, or one of the advancing cities in India. It best describes the economical life and the most vivid life, but it is also it that only Mumbai city, itself won't be enough to describe the true cultures of the India. But in Mumbai most of the people are not aware of their true culture or traditions. In the city of lights, the traditions are getting faded.

Some of the cities preserve the true traditions and cultures of the society, but the sad facet is that these cities gets hidden by the glam of the advancing cities; such cities can also depict one of the most important characteristics of the society. For instance, India is such a diverse country, some of its cities like Hampi,Tirupati.varoda,Leh Ladakh,etc. show how culturally and traditionally adverse we are and also how beautiful and adventurous these places can be.

Hence, it’s not enough that one needs to understand the most important characteristics of major cities of a society, in order to study it. One needs to know how diverse a society’s culture and tradition are, as in the end a society will only be remembered by its tradition and culture.