"In most professions and academic fields, imagination is more important than knowledge."

"Imagination is key for creating something new that was never thought before", this saying mentions that in order to achieve something that is unthinkable; one has to first imagine that that thing is possible and can be achieved. Imagination not only provides the ideas about how the thing will look but also the motivation for doing so. Imagination is fuel for dreams coming true. In any field knowledge is required but imagination for building something new and unique in that field is also needed.

Imagination takes us to another level, it provides us the key ingredient i.e. goal and idea; even though a person has vast knowledge in that field, if he does not have any idea or thoughts for building something new, his knowledge would be prodigal or it would monotonous; his knowledge would not be used for something significant. For example, when the apple fell on the Newton's head, Newton did not ignore the fact something fell on his head, he started imagining how this apple fall on my head and how did it this happen, to figure out this, he used his knowledge for identifying the gravitational effect. Thus, for putting one's knowledge in the right direction, one has to have the imagination and the to urge to knowing why.

Another example where imagination plays and crucial role is the world of fiction. In the world of fiction, without having imagination of what the story will look like, what characters have to be included, what super power a super hero should have, what would the super villein will look like, etc.; without knowing this aspects or imagining these aspects, a author would not be able to write a comic book or novel. Thus, for creating something fictional author has to have an idea that he has imagined.

Imagination plays a pith in the field of technology, where one has to invent something that has not been invented before. Every inventors come across the dilemma of what new to create ? In this contemporary world, where everything is readily available and is already present, the innovators face the problem where they have the knowledge that is required for success but they don't have anything new to create. Every innovator has to have imagination, in order to truly, use their knowledge in the asserted way.

Thus, for any person to excel in their field one has to think out of the box, and imagine something new, then only he would be able to use their knowledge in apt way.