To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

The statement linking urban life with cultural understanding plays on recent human experience over the few decades. The prompt assumes that cities are hubs of social, economic, and political frenzy that display cultural diversity and polarization conspicuously. In San Francisco, one cannot walk down a street without passing an ethnic restaurant in one of its ethnically polarizes boroughs, which shows its liberally diverse culture. In contrast, New York's boroughs tell a harsh story of income inequality and economic dissatisfaction. In fact, all throughout the world major cities display the most accurate record of a country's culture.

This assumes that smaller cities do not have a large enough sample population to accurately describe the features of a culture. One could argue that the less-populated Midwest cities, which are mostly conservative farming communities, do not accurately portray the whole of the United State's political culture. In contrast, the bustling cities of Austin and Ann Arbor have a reasonable mix of people that more or less reflect the actual political ideologies present in mainstream culture. On the other hand, some would argue that a city cannot capture the polarized, culturally outlying factions. But when considering the root of all social, economic, political, and intellectual output from a society, much of urban runoff influences rural life just as much as rural communities affect urban cities. This makes the issue obsolete.

Consider how rural communities sustain the economic viability of cities. Agriculture feeds the city populous and the city populous returns technology, imports, and development funding. City population has grown in recent years, and the demand for food production and manufacturing from rural communities increased. Increasingly, there has become a larger demand on wholesale, local goods. As the demand continues to rise, the effect of the rural population becomes ever more apparent in the local urban economy and food culture. As the rural population largely supports urban life, the rural sub-culture also marks the urban economy and culture.

It is the necessity of modern life that makes developed cities a better meter of a country's culture than rural communities. Cities often develop new technologies, regulations, and agricultural policies that directly affect those communities. The new pathway leaves room for exchange of cultural imports from smaller communities. Especially with the rise in technology such as the internet, opinions, food recipes, political ideology, and information have never been able to be shared faster between communities. Urban and rural centers are not as separated as they were centuries or even millennia ago when people had to carry their art and wares from small villages miles to reach city centers. The modern way of life has connected rural and urban communities in such a way to make urban life a diverse and accurate representation of any national culture.

Urban cities will always remain an emblem of national identity, combining social, economic, and political perspectives via technological networking. Given the trend from past centuries and millennia, it appears that cities will continue to urbanize and homogenize as technology increases the ability to share cultural perspectives.