To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The major cities of a society consist of a variety of people: long-term residents, recent arrivals, wealthy people, tourists, and more. These people define the culture of that city, and that culture in turn reflects upon the society. Any city located within a society will, in time, come to reflect that society’s values to at least some extent. However, major cities are more akin to data points than exact mirrors; each city only provides a glimpse at the society’s values, but the full picture can only be understood by examining multiple cities in detail. Modern problems become visible, such as poverty, homelessness, mass killings, and mental illness. On a more neutral note, general mannerisms can be found. This includes what is culturally acceptable, how people dress, drive, and interact with other people. Examining cities can also help identify the amount of tourism, showing how that society is affected by people from different societies.

Consider the United States, for example. Many cities have problems with homelessness or poverty, which reflects on the economic condition of the society. Mass killings have also increased in prevalence, and quite a few cities have had problems with them. Beyond problems, general habits also become visible, though they may vary between cities. By my own personal experience, driving habits vary in aggressiveness depending on location. The Los Angeles area contains highly aggressive drivers, while a suburb like Roseville is comparatively tame. Even the driving in Seattle appears notably tamer than it is overall in the Los Angeles area. While examination does not yield fully consistent results, certain patterns hold overall; people usually stop at red lights, generally yield for pedestrians even when they do not have right of way, and drive on the right side of the road (hopefully!). This illustrates why cities must be viewed as data points rather than precise replicas; local culture has a strong effect on a city, paralleling that of the society itself.

While this discussion has revolved around cities, the case studies should not stop there. If a society has a significant portion of land that contains towns or rural land with low human populations, these areas should also be considered to ensure a clear picture of the society is formed. For instance, many wind turbine farms are built significantly far from human habitations to avoid noise pollution. Most farming also takes place away from cities. Not examining less populated regions can hamper one’s understanding of the economy and infrastructure of the society.

Performing case studies of major cities can reveal the core values and habits of a society, even if some of those case studies have the potential to lead to inaccurate conclusions. As a hypothetical example, consider a society where every major city is filled with extremely rude people, except for one city which only contains extremely polite people. If just that single city were examined