Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

To prove that the Palean baskets were uniquely Palean would require an exhaustive proof demonstrating that all non-Palean civilizations did not make the so-called “Palean” baskets, and such a proof would likely be very difficult. This argument makes a claim that these baskets were not uniquely Palean, although it contains several assumptions such that it is not logically sound. While we cannot prove these baskets were uniquely Palean, the given argument is probably not the one that will invalidate this idea.

One large hole lies in the statement that “no Palean boats have been found.” By no means does this statement demonstrate that no Palean boats exist. As one possibility, Paleans could have used boats, but said boats were scrapped for materials, destroyed later, or were left forgotten and composted.

Beyond that point, Paleans may not have needed boats. While it is unlikely the Paleans would have had the architectural knowledge to build bridges, they may have not needed to. Perhaps if the river were of smaller width in prehistoric times, the Paleans could have used a large tree trunk or something similar as a makeshift bridge. Additionally, rivers are dynamic entities. They are affected by erosion and other geological processes, so it is possible the river could have been much shallower or even in a different location entirely so the Paleans would not have even needed to cross a river to reach Lithos. Without proof that the river was deep and broad in prehistoric times, which could perhaps be obtained by examining geological records, we cannot be sure that a boat was the only option to cross that part of the land.

This point is more of a stretch, but it may also be possible for Paleans to have at one point crossed the site where the Brim River is currently located and settled in what we currently call Lithos. If this were the case, the inhabitants of Lithos would have been of Palean descent. Whether the baskets were Palean would then be a different question. At what point does a society become fundamentally different enough such that it can be dissociated from its former name and be given a new name, and does such a point even exist? Stepping back from this question, even if the people of Lithos were at one point Palean but were not at the time the basket was produced, we would still call the basket “Palean” if Paleans were the original manufacturer.

This leads into my final point regarding this argument. As is the case with many products today, an item will often be called by the name of its most noteworthy instance. For example, if one were to say “give me a Kleenex” when asking for a tissue, most people would understand the person was asking for a tissue and not specifically a Kleenex tissue. This applies to other brands such as Tylenol, jet skis, or bubble wrap. Even if Paleans started producing baskets and completely unrelated people from Lithos began producing very similar (or identical) baskets at a later time, these baskets would still be considered Palean if Palea was the most prolific producer. This point in particular lies on tentative ground, although I intend for it to be more of a semantic debate about whether what something is depends on its manufacturer or its inventor.

Overall, I don’t think that argument is enough to determine the baskets are not uniquely Palean.