To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

It is a herculean process to understand society. The world has diverse people with distinct cultures. The most important characteristics of the society include its culture, language, thought process, education, and how people lead their lives. Culture of society mainly includes the rituals people follow, the religion they worship, the food they eat, the way they dress, the festivals they celebrate, etc. Though it is a difficult task to understand society, a pragmatic way to do so is to study its major cities.

In today's world, people are connected and it's easy to move around. Most places are accessible and are connected through some means of transport. Major cities of the world offer many job opportunities and options for economic growth. Thus, people in the world tend to move to their nearby major cities for employment and survival option. Most major cities have people from various cultural and ethnic groups living there. When people from different places come to settle down to a new place, many of them continue to lead their lives the way they did in their native places. Thus a multicultural and multilingual environment is found in major cities. This makes it easier to know about many different and diverse societies by visiting a few places only. Also, most of the major cities in the world have some historical importance. A diverse history related to a place also helps us understand many characteristics of society.

Although, this might not be true in some scenarios. Many different tribal communities are cut off from the world and not much can be known about them by studying major cities. Thus, it is easy to get a synopsis of the society by studying major cities and is a good step to start with when trying to understand the society, studying some other aspects may also be important.